Hi! Im Ellen! I am a HCA in Southend-on-sea

Female 24 years old

Contact This Carer

My Summary

Home care experience
Police (DBS) checked

About Me and My Experience

Hello, my name is Ellen. I have extensive experience in the care sector and am at present working as a Live-in carer for a company in the London area. I am looking to move back to Essex next month and become a care assistant once more. Previously I worked for Mencap for 15 years before I took voluntary redundancy, so have had many happy years working with adults with learning disabilities. After leaving Mencap I went on to work as a Manager in a Sheltered Housing scheme for the homeless for nearly three years before I left due to redundancy. I then went on to work for an exclusive charity based near Cambridge for 8 years before leaving due to the project closing. In between my full time jobs, and to supplement my income I have worked in the community as a care assistant and in care homes with the elderly and since January 2017 have been working with the elderly as a live in carer.

  • Preparation of meals and snacks and assisting with feeding when required
  • Organising social events and activities designed to stimulate and entertain the residence
  • Assisting residence with their daily ablutions
  • Ensuring residence were comfortable and provided with required medication
  • Updating daily care logs
  • Preparing and distributing meals 
  • Taking and recording a patient’s temperature, pulse and respiration.
  • Maintaining the comfort and dignity of patients at all times.
  • Providing emotional support to patients and carers.
  • Helping patients to dress and undress.
  • Keeping all consultation rooms organised, tidy and well stocked.
  • Preparing patients for examination.
  • Supporting the work of qualified nurses.
  • Chaperoning and escorting patients whilst they are in the health centre.
  • Promoting independent living.
  • Safeguard a patient’s property and belongings.
  • Getting to know clients, their interests and their needs.
  • Helping clients with daily personal care such as washing, dressing, using the toilet and feeding themselves.
  • Supporting service users in a way that maintains dignity and privacy.
  • Supporting clients in a residential home.
  • Carrying out general tasks such as housework, laundry and shopping.
  • Providing support to physically/mentally disabled people and vulnerable adults.
  • Ensuring that all areas of the medical centre are tidy and safe at all times.
  • Working with other health and social care professionals to
  • Provide individual care and development plans.
  • Assessing the level of care a client needs.
  • Aiding and advising a client’s family or carer.
  • Supporting clients with recreational activities.
  • Organising leisure activities.
  • Going with clients to and from a residential home.

My Qualifications

Care Certificate

First Aid and Basic Life Support

Manual Handling Practice and Theory

Food Hygiene

MCA Training

Challenging Behaviours

Safeguarding Adults

Safeguarding Children

Infection Control

Medication Administration

Dementia Care

My Availability

Please see below.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Morning calls
Lunch time calls
Tea/evening calls
Bed time calls
Companionship and shopping
Last Updated: 29/03/2018

My Fees

£9 per hour


Not enough reviews to show.