Experience HCA in Southend

Female 54 years old

Contact This Carer

My Summary

Home care experience
Police (DBS) checked

About Me and My Experience

My name is Paula, and I have worked with elderly people for over 20 years. I've also worked with people with Alzheimer's and Dementia for 17 years. I have a NVQ3 in health & social care and up to date with certificates. I worked in a day centre for Age concern Bracknell for the elderly for 11 years working my way up from a carer to a manager. After leaving there I worked with the elderly for Age UK Sutton working as a home helper doing house work, shopping, ironing, taking to appointments, playing games, chatting, ect. Now I work for myself doing much the same as I did for Age UK.

  • Preparation of meals and snacks and assisting with feeding when required
  • Organising social events and activities designed to stimulate and entertain the residence
  • Assisting residence with their daily ablutions
  • Ensuring residence were comfortable and provided with required medication
  • Updating daily care logs
  • Preparing and distributing meals 
  • Taking and recording a patient’s temperature, pulse and respiration.
  • Maintaining the comfort and dignity of patients at all times.
  • Providing emotional support to patients and carers.
  • Helping patients to dress and undress.
  • Keeping all consultation rooms organised, tidy and well stocked.
  • Preparing patients for examination.
  • Supporting the work of qualified nurses.
  • Chaperoning and escorting patients whilst they are in the health centre.
  • Promoting independent living.
  • Safeguard a patient’s property and belongings.
  • Getting to know clients, their interests and their needs.
  • Helping clients with daily personal care such as washing, dressing, using the toilet and feeding themselves.

My Qualifications

Care Certificate

First Aid and Basic Life Support

Manual Handling Practice and Theory

Food Hygiene

MCA Training

Challenging Behaviours

Safeguarding Adults

Safeguarding Children

Infection Control

Continence Care 

Medication Administration

Dementia Care

My Availability

Start now

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Morning calls
Lunch time calls
Tea/evening calls
Bed time calls
Companionship and shopping
Last Updated: 29/03/2018

My Fees

£10 per hour £13 bank holidays


Not enough reviews to show.